

PINNING CEREMONY

W.W. Walton Chapel

May 3, 2024 4:00 р.м.



UNIVERSITY OF MARY HARDIN-BAYLOR SCOTT & WHITE SCHOOL OF NURSING

PINNING CEREMONY

W.W. Walton Chapel

May 3, 2024 4:00 p.m.

PINNING PROGRAM

PROCESSIONAL"Long Live" Taylor Swift	
WELCOME	
INVOCATION	
SIGMA THETA TAU INDUCTIONMs. Bobby Joe Motloch Assistant Professor & Counselor, Tau Epsilon Chapter	
PINNING OF BSN STUDENTS	
NURSE'S PLEDGE	
SCHOOL OF NURSING RECOGNITION AND AWARDS SENIOR VIDEO	
BENEDICTION	
RECESSIONAL"Unwritten" Natasha Bedingfield	

SCOTT & WHITE SCHOOL OF NURSING

The Scott & White School of Nursing is the oldest continuously operating nursing education program in Central Texas. Since 1904, approximately 4,500 nursing students have graduated from the Scott & White Hospital Diploma Program, the Scott & White School of Nursing, and the Scott & White College of Nursing Baccalaureate Program. With vision and forethought, Scott & White nurse leaders paved the way for reaching the goal of transitioning the diploma program to the baccalaureate program. In 1968, Scott & White Hospital administration and Mary Hardin-Baylor College officials agreed to close the hospital's three-year diploma program and begin a four-year college program leading to a Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

In 2018, the university established the Mayborn College of Health Sciences to bring together a variety of health-related degree programs, organized into three schools. Today, the Scott & White School of Nursing offers both the undergraduate Bachelor of Science in Nursing and the graduate Master of Science in Nursing.

HISTORY OF THE PIN

All colleges and schools of nursing have a distinctive, uniquely designed pin reserved for graduates of the program. The Scott & White School of Nursing pin is no different.

Known as "the circle and the star", the pin was first worn by graduates of the original Scott & White nursing program in 1904, then known as the Temple Sanitarium. The large gold and red enamel circle framed the gold star and was considered an integral part of the professional nurse's uniform.

Today, graduates of the Scott & White School of Nursing at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor practice professional nursing world-wide and are readily identified by the large gold, purple, and white enamel circle framing the gold star that our graduates will receive this evening. These men and women continue the time-honored reputation for the knowledge, skills, and professionalism demonstrated by our graduates.

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN NURSING GRADUATES

Delfina Ahulu Karah Lambert Naomi Aigbogun Grason Long Amber Amos* Zanthe Louther Emily Atwell* Isabel Magallon Breanna Austin Gillian Mascorro Maribel Avila Alexandria Maxfield Madelyn Baylor Skyler McDaniel Katelyn Beach Madeleine Mendoza*

Jordan Bell Rene Meza
Courtney Benner Abigail Myers
Madison Buddin Blakely Niles
Maci Campbell Melany Olivares

Fatima Castillo Osatohamwen Omere*

Natalie Cleverly **Brooke Onev** Catherine DeLance Ali Pipsair Lauren Ernest Priscilla Rafael Aubrey Fossett Rebecca Rebmann Maizie Foxx Chloe Ruedas Hannah Frasca Macy Sabrsula Hannah Grisham Timya Smith Jakayla Harris-Arceneaux Catherine Suh Anna Hinkle Davien Teate Marlee Hopkins Camille Tomme Jasmine Vasquez Kourtney Hulse Makayla Jackson* Jaqueline Vass Kaytlynn Jester Ashley Vensel Jessica Jorczak Violet Williams

Samantha Kaatz

Regan Woodley

^{*}Sigma Theta Tau Inductee

NURSING FACULTY AND STAFF

Lori Adair, MSN-Ed, RN, PMH-BC Tami Andrews, PhD, RN Tracy Booth, Ed.D., BSN, RN Danisha Bucher, MSN, APRN, FNP, CCRN Christi Carlson, MSN, APRN, FNP-C Tammy Cehand, MSN, RN, CLC Katie Cole, MSN, RN Ann Crawford, PhD, MSN, RN, CNS, CEN, CPEN Mandy Dycus, MSN, RN Christi Emerson, Ed.D., MSN, RN Cathy Fox, MSN, RN Michele Hackney, Ed.D, MSN, RN, CNE Christan Hammonds, MSN, RN Elizabeth Jimenez, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC Stephanie Long, MSN, APRN, FNP-C Jared McClure, Ed.D. Kelda McMullen-Fix. MSN. RN. CEN Bobby Joe Motloch, MSN, RN Michelle Nicoletti, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC Brooke Robinson, MSN, RN Sara Simmons, MSN, BSN, RN Katelyn Sharpe, MPA

NURSING ADJUNCT FACULTY

Ben Baecker Luanne Gantt Dawn Reagan **Brandy Graves** Rebecca Sharpe Ana Barefield Teresa Beamon Sheila Hardin Susan Soard Mackinzie Hicks Emma Spellings Ruth Bechtold Lorena Benavides Erin Hoeft Richard Stoneburner Christian Clark Karisha Johnson Tiffany Tagle Heather Clinton Corri Lewis Jennifer Tasby Heather Collins Vincent Lezama Hannah Troy Kayle Dickerson Madison Maybin Adrianna Vinar Amy Dodds Jennifer Miller Dana White Lara Downs (Berrios) Yohantis Moore Tony Woodard Monica Woodward Meghan Engelke Laurel Pilkington Brooke Fox Krystal Pring

SIGMA THETA TAU

In 1922, six nurses founded Sigma Theta Tau at the Indiana University Training School for Nurses, now the Indiana University School of Nursing, in Indianapolis, Indiana. The founders chose the name from the Greek words Storgé, Tharsos, and Timé meaning "love", "courage" and "honor". The Scott & White School of Nursing's Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is named Tau Epsilon and was chartered on April 6, 2004.

The mission of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, is to support the learning, knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. And the vision of the Honor Society of Nursing is to create a global community of nurses who lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service, and learning to improve the health of the world's people.

Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.

EXECUTIVE BOARD

President	Ms. DonnaLee Pollack
Vice President	Ms. Corri Lewis
CounselorsMs. Danisha Bucher	& Ms. Bobby Joe Motloch
Treasurer	Ms. Sandi Coufal
Governance Chair	Dr. Shelley Blackwood
Leadership Succession Chair	Dr. Amy Mersiovsky
Membership Involvement Chair	Dr. Dawn Riess
Other Committee Position	Ms. Malaika Jenkins

THE GOLDEN CROSS AWARD

This award is given to the student displaying a "Christian Attitude" in all he/she does. It has no GPA requirement.

THE PURPLE HEART AWARD

This award is given to the student who displays caring and compassion to patients, peers, and faculty. It has no GPA requirement.

ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

This award is given to the student with the highest nursing GPA.

CLINICAL EXCELLENCE AWARD

This award is given to the student who exemplifies outstanding ability in the clinical setting (knowledge, critical thinking ability, psychomotor skill, and effective communication).

MACK AND LEORA DUCE "MARK OF EXCELLENCE IN NURSING" AWARD

This award is given to students who have demonstrated a superior level of scholarship, citizenship, and professional leadership during their nursing education.

THE NURSE'S PLEDGE

I solemnly pledge myself before God and in the presence of this assembly, to faithfully practice my profession of nursing

I will do all in my power to make and maintain the highest standards and practices of my profession.

I will hold in confidence all personal matters committed to my keeping in the practice of my calling.

I will devote myself to the welfare of my patients, my families, and my community.

I will endeavor to fulfill my rights and privileges as a good citizen and to take my share of responsibility in promoting the health and welfare of my community.

I will constantly endeavor to increase my knowledge and skills in nursing and to use them wisely.

I will zealously seek to nurse those who are ill wherever they may be and whenever they are in need.

I will be active in assisting others in safeguarding and promoting the health and happiness of humankind.

-adapted from Marrion G. Howell, R.N.
Dean Emeritus
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio

